��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

January 19, 2007

Healthy girl.

Our one-month visit to the pediatrician went really well.

I really, really like this doctor! He�s a hoot � very personable, and does as much �doctoring� of the parents as he does of the kids. Very nice. And he really seems to know what he�s doing, which is a nice bonus �

The baby is gaining about two ounces a day. No kidding. That�s a LOT. She�s eating really well, and it�s going to the right places. She�s up to 9lb 12oz (her birth weight was 7lb). She�s 21 and 7/8 inches long � which means she has grown nearly an inch and a half!

No wonder my baby has already outgrown some outfits and the newborn diapers � we have clinical evidence that she is getting BIGGER!

And the doctor agrees with my assessment that she probably has some reflux � he listened to all of the evidence and he said it sounds pretty likely. So he put he on Zantac twice a day. It�s liquid (of course) and it�s mint flavored � blech. Poor kid.

All in all, though, she�s healthy healthy healthy. And that makes me happy!

He didn�t seem to disturbed by her sleep patterns � I mentioned that the baby doesn�t seem to know that the cord was cut and he just laughed. He recommended we put her to sleep in her car seat for a while to try and transition her � �if she doesn�t like sleeping on her back, then we need to put her on an incline!� he said.

So we�ll try that, if I can manage it. I have a feeling she�ll be in our bed for at least a few more weeks.

----------

Speaking of sleep � she did sleep better last night and today. I got about 4 hours of sleep last night (not all in a row, of course, but this is still a big deal) � I even got an hour�s nap this afternoon! Yay, baby!

----------

Not much else going on � trying to get some household stuff done today. The in-laws are coming for a visit next week and I need to start getting the house in shape. Oy.

----------

Hey, Ms. lucKy#2, send me an email (infertilehurdle at yahoo dot com) and I�ll email you pictures of my little munchkin.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�