��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

April 15, 2006

Moving right along.

So all this week I was having a weirdo pain in my abdomen � very similar to the pain I had that led to the surgery to end that ectopic pregnancy. I spent a good deal of time with my head in the sand (�no, no, no, no, no, can�t possibly be happening twice, no no, ack�) until I finally told Blue.

�I made a deal with myself. If I still have pain tomorrow, I�ll call the doctor.�

Damn deals.

So Thursday I called the doctor and explained everything to my most excellent nurse. She went to talk to the doc and then called me back. �He wants to see you tomorrow.�

Yesterday morning I got up early, drove down to get my blood work done, and then I had an hour to kill before my appointment with Dr. Fabulous. Blue met me down at DocFab�s office and � wonder of wonders � DocFab was only 15 minutes late for his appointment. (This, my friends, is a miracle. Because I don�t believe I�ve ever waited for a shorter time than 30 minutes in his waiting room �)

DocFab said he couldn�t find ANYTHING to be alarmed about. Perhaps it was a little scar tissue � he wasn�t sure. But he pretty much ruled out an ectopic pregnancy � which was more or less confirmed when he was able to see a gestational sac in my uterus.

That�s right � I now have a printout of an ultrasound that shows a gestational sac. Well, really, it�s a printout of a big grainy gray picture � most of the gray is medium-gray, but then there�s one teeny little darker-gray dot � that�s the baby.

Then I got my hcg results � 853.

So there are no worries about this pregnancy anymore. Yeah, yeah, wait until the heartbeat, blah blah blah. Sure, we�re waiting for that before we TELL people. �Just in case.� But at this point, everything is progressing in a very textbook manner, so I�m just going to proceed under the assumption that � holy cow � I�m pregnant and going to be a mother of a living, breathing baby person.

So in the span of a couple of hours I went from uncertainty that the pregnancy was going to be okay to the uncertainty of what in the heck is going to happen now that I�m actually going to be pregnant for the next eight months and then give birth to a child.

----------

What�s funny is the hodgepodge of random thoughts that came and went throughout the day yesterday.

Gotta get our wills in order.
Who�s going to be the godparents?
What on earth do pregnant women do about bathing suits? Or am I not supposed to show my expanding girth this summer?
Must.not.pick.a.stupid.trendy.name.for.the.baby.
That extra bedroom � we�re really going to have to turn it into a nursery at some point.
How much should I work this summer?
Breastfeeding � gonna do it, not looking forward to it.
I should really stop dropping the f-bomb so often.
I need to call my personal trainer and start the prenatal workouts, rather than the kill-myself-get-in-shape-lose-weight stuff I had been doing.
Prenatal yoga might be a good idea.
Guess I�m not getting into all of those favorite jeans that I�m not quite ready for, but could�ve easily gotten into over the next two weeks.

So there ya go. That�s just a sampling of the randomness of my brain today.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�