��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

April 27, 2007

No news is bad news.

I�ve been hiding out this week. Haven�t wanted to journal.

Not good news from the second opinion. First of all, they found an additional problem � my bladder is prolapsed. Great! And second, although that part can be fixed, the rest of the pelvic floor muscle problems can�t. So I�m MORE screwed than I thought I was going into that appointment.

Sheesh!

I�m not going to have anything fixed until after we wean Baby Catnip from breastfeeding. I imagine that will be sometime in the 6-9 month range. Don�t think we�ll go a whole year, because I really don�t want to hold off on these surgeries for too long. But until we wean and have the surgeries, I�ll continue with my physical therapy.

----------

Took my dogs to the dog park today to let them run around like crazy. Much like the houseplants, they�ve been pretty neglected lately. (Of course, the dogs get water and they haven�t died yet, so the dogs are in much better standing than the majority of the houseplants around here �)

I put Baby Catnip in her Baby Bjorn carrier, dropped a sunhat on her head, and let the dogs run wild. They didn�t run as much as I had hoped � but they did get some of the energy out. And they got dirty as hell � they both needed baths when we got home.

Baby Catnip seemed to enjoy watching the dogs run around, although I don�t know, really � she was face-out in the carrier so she could�ve had a scowl on her face the whole time. But she didn�t make a peep, so I assume she was fine.

A very nice fellow was throwing a tennis ball for his dog and he noticed my boy dog being a spaz. He started throwing the ball for my dog, too, which was awesome. (He noticed that I had my hands full with the baby but that Spaz Dog needed to run � so he was very Random Acts of Kindness to us.)

We would�ve stayed at the dog park longer than about thirty minutes expect for two things: first, I forgot to bring sunscreen for the baby, and her arms were pretty exposed. I don�t want her to get her first sunburn YET. Second, this woman showed up with three toddlers and a puppy, and she brought them all RIGHT OVER to where I was playing with my dogs.

Seriously � what kind of whack job has three toddlers and then goes out and gets a puppy? And then takes them all out at the same time to an off-leash dog park and hopes to control them? Also, why on EARTH did she have to come to my little corner of the park? This is a many-acre dog park � she could�ve taken her brood to a different spot. But she came along and parked right next to us, which wasn�t good. My girl dog was fine � but Spaz Dog was all over the kids and their puppy with his muddy paws and she was shooting me a dirty look. (Hey, it�s an off-leash park � you have to expect muddy paws from strange dogs. Also, no offense, your children were baiting my dog and calling him over. So get over yourself with your nasty looks, lady.)

We left because I didn�t want to have to police the dogs so closely. I don�t mind them hanging around and playing with strangers who are adults, but I won�t have them knocking over toddlers. I�m responsible with MY charges. Ahem.

----------

Blue is out of town for the evening. Baby Catnip is sleeping. It�s time for me to go to bed, myself.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�