��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

October 04, 2006

OB update.

Already a second entry for today - can you believe it?

My OB is not at all worried about my Braxton-Hicks contractions, OR my real contractions. (Vin, BH ctxns are �false labor.� They don�t feel like a real contraction, which hurts. With a BH, your whole tummy tightens up for 30-60 seconds, but nothing hurts � it just feels really funny.) She told me the usual � make sure I�m getting rest, staying stress-free, and drinking enough fluids. (Check, check, check.)

I have been given a prescription to take care of my reflux. Thank you, gods of medicine and pharmacology for proton pump inhibitors! Whee!

My OB and her nurse also think I�m pretty funny.

Why?

I kept saying to them (separately), �I just don�t understand why I�m so tired. I�m anemic but not THAT anemic. I�m busy but not THAT busy. I�m sleep deprived but not THAT sleep deprived. Why am I so tired?�

The nurse answered, �Because you�re pregnant.�

The OB answered, �Because you�re pregnant.�

Aah. That clears it up, thanks.

Actually, I felt better hearing that from both of them. I came home from my ungodly early OB appointment and went right back to bed for two hours of uninterrupted, blissful sleep! No guilt. I said to myself, �I�m tired because I�m pregnant. I�m going to take a nap now. Zzzzzzzzzz.�

Maybe from now on I�ll feel less guilty and more like I have permission to take a day off and nap when I need it.

----------

Baby furniture is being delivered (and assembled! yah! Blue is da man, who refuses to have his manhood feel compromised by letting someone else bring the stuff to our house and put it together � how smart can you be?) on Friday. Very excited about that.

I need to eat some lunch (I see a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on 100% whole grain whole wheat bread in my future).

Then I need to go have my hair trimmed.

Then I promise I will clean the house.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�