��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

June 11, 2006

There's more at the door.

Well, I�m a little anxious about this week.

I�m working Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. Three days in a row. Dear God, how am I going to make it through?

Ok, so that last sentence was purposefully drama-queenish. And I know that all of you people who actually work full time for a living (especially while pregnant) are scoffing at me for being a wuss.

But I haven�t worked three full days in a row in a long time. And even though I�m feeling better, my ass is still dragging quite a bit with fatigue. So three days in a fast-paced on-my-feet people-dying-daily environment is going to be tough.

Someone break out the world�s smallest violin and play a tune for me, quick!

----------

This weekend was nice and quiet. We did, well, nothing.

On Friday afternoon, Blue came home early and we went to a movie. (We saw Cars, which was cute but waaaaay too long. And as much as I like animated movies with talking objects, I�m just not that into cars and so it was hard to keep my attention focused on the movie. I give it two and a half stars, and a �see it on video� recommendation.)

Saturday, we slept in. Then we had breakfast. Then we played in the pool. Then we took naps. Then we went out to dinner. Then we watched some TV and then we went to bed. Wow, that�s a yawner.

Today we got up, went to church, did a quick grocery trip, ate lunch, took a nap, did some computer stuff, swam in the pool �

I�m going to cook dinner in a few minutes (fajitas). Then Blue will watch the basketball game. I�ll get my stuff ready for work tomorrow (*sob*) � and then I�ll do some computer work I�ve been meaning to get to.

----------

It�s a peaceful life right now, and I like it that way.

----------

We had a minor emergency today � wasps. They found a place under one of the eaves that they could use to tunnel into the house and live. EEK!

Blue waited until he didn�t see any, and then caulked up the hole.

A few more wasps came by and found another hole.

Blue nailed �em with wasp killer (sorry, little bugs, no mercy) and then caulked up the second hole.

Now we have a few pissed off wasps that are alive and can�t get into their (our!) house. I don�t know how many are permanently trapped inside their early grave (our house) but I don�t think they�ll be getting out alive.

The biggest drama with the wasps came when Blue was firing wasp killer in the air and skeet-shooting a few of the wasps out of the sky. One of the wasps got hit and made a kamikaze flight all the way over to my feet, where he was pronounced DOA. But to see him coming toward me absolutely Flipped Me Out.

I do not like stinging insects. Seriously. I get all girly about them � and no matter what Blue is doing at the time, he always must stop and deal with bugs immediately.

----------

Hmm. There�s more I could write, but I think it�s time to start dinner.

Hey Jen, I could email you but this is faster, and I�m lazy today. This is an official invitation to come out and visit us for a weekend sometime before the summer is over. If you need to get away from all of the hormones in your household, and come to Austin where it�s a cool 98 degrees (versus Phoenix�s 110), you�re welcome!

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�