��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

June 13, 2006

Stuff of no interest, really.

I�m 13 weeks and 3 days pregnant today. We had an OB appointment � heard the heartbeat on the Doppler. 155 beats per minute � whoosh, whoosh, music to my ears. I cried. Seriously, I tear up at the drop of a hat.

----------

My desktop computer died a couple of weeks ago.

It was spectacular in its death � my husband, a computer genius, kept saying things like, �Wow, I�ve never seen one do that before,� and �Whoa, now that�s a warning message you don�t see very often, ha ha!�

I was prepared to write off everything on the hard drives � because the main drive is what tanked. I didn�t even give it much of a second thought � I just went, �eeeh, I guess it was time.� I knew that my most important stuff, the photos, were all (or mostly) archived. Everything else represented time, sweat, tears and toil � but none of it was life-or-death.

Then Blue ran out and bought me a new computer. I didn�t really want it � until I saw how fast it was. AND Blue managed to resurrect my hard drives, so that I could get all of my data and put it all onto the new machine � what a guy!

So I started putting all of my stuff on the new computer and then �

Zip! Zing! It died.

That�s right. I was 0 for 2 in less than 48 hours.

So Blue got me a second new computer � and now I�m really over it and reluctant to even bother with it.

Sigh.

I just need to suck it up and take some time and get my ass in gear and get that new computer set up. Maybe tomorrow.

----------

Here�s a subject that is of no interest to anyone but me:

My pregnancy-related constipation.

It�s been five days, people. FIVE DAYS. You have to know how absolutely disturbed (not to mention uncomfortable) I am over this situation.

At today�s OB appointment I listed all of the things I�m doing right:

Eating fiber-rich foods.
Drinking a glass of Metamucil every day.
Putting BeneFiber in my foods and beverages.
Drinking TONS of water.
Taking Colace at night.
Exercising/walking as much as I can to get things moving.

And NOTHING is happening.

She recommended MOM (Milk of Magnesia), which I�ve tried in the past and which never works for me. The next step after MOM would be an enema.

I was pretty much ready to skip MOM and go straight for the Fleet�s. Let�s get this show on the road, already. Yikes.

This evening I went to Walgreen�s and purchased: (a) one bottle of MOM, (b) one Fleet�s enema, and (c) one box of Raisin Bran.

Do you think the gal behind the counter comprehended the extent of the fun I am planning to have tonight?

I�ll let you in on a secret � the Fleet�s was a psychological ploy � I�m simply trying to scare my lower GI tract into getting into gear. I would certainly prefer to avoid the Apparatus.

I have chugged 4 tablespoons of MOM. Yeeeeaiiiigh. Bleah. Blech. Ptoooey. That better do the friggin� trick.

----------

They took my weight at the OB�s office � I gained a pound in the past 7 weeks. �Yeah, well, if it weren�t for the fact that it�s been FIVE DAYS since anything has moved through my system, I�d be down a pound or two, not up one.� (Yeah, I�m getting cranky. I�m starting to understand why old people are so obsessed with their bowels.)

----------

I feel like God gave me a life-sized Get Out of Jail Free card today. I was scheduled to work a full day tomorrow, and I noticed that my name wasn�t on the schedule. I casually mentioned it to my boss, who asked if I �wanted to work at all, or maybe just come in at 1pm?�

I chose 1pm. That way, I don�t look like a total lazy ass, but I can sleep in and I only have to deal with things for a few hours. NICE.

Then I have the rest of the week off � aaah, sweet down time.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�