��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

March 29, 2006

I have embryos.

Well, I�ve got two embryos floating around in my uterus.*

The procedure today was pretty straightforward.

The downside to the whole thing is that I�ve had a raging UTI since Monday. It came on like a freight train on Monday afternoon; by 6:30pm on Monday night I knew that there was no way I could wait until Tuesday morning for antibiotics. (Recall that I�m a UTI pro � I know all too well the signs of a raging infection.)

It was so bad that Blue drove me to the nearest Doc in a Box walk-in clinic so I could get my treasured antibiotics. Dr. McBox was actually quite terrific � the care was quick, the urinalysis showed that my infection was raging (�told ya so�), and I got my script and Blue drove me home.

Two days of antibiotics and two days of pyridium (an anti-spasmodic and analgesic) did wonders in making me feel better; however, two days of said drugs did not make me feel healed. I was anxious about the procedure today because I knew I was going to have a full bladder for the ultrasound, and that all of the manipulation in and around my snapper** was going to be uncomfortable.

So the FET (frozen embryo transfer) went well, even with the discomfort. Dr. Sunshine is notoriously late for his appointments. Like the brilliant woman I am, I snuck to the ladies� room and peed until my bladder was about half-empty. The nurse caught me when I was on my way back in to my room � I confessed my sins (�I peed, I�m sorry, he�s always late, I have a UTI, there�s no way I couldn�t NOT pee ��) and she laughed at me. �I know he�s always late. Don�t worry about it.�

Dr. Sunshine was late � but only by 25 minutes. By his clock, he was actually early for the procedure.

His nurses at the surgical center were excellent � they got me all settled in to the comfy stirrups, covered up the snapper, and got me ready for the doc.

When Dr. Sunshine walked into the OR, he took the time to actually shake Blue�s hand and ask how we were doing. (I was shocked � he didn�t just go straight between my legs!) He was chatty and upbeat, not his usual all-business short-on-bedside-manner self.

I was very right to be anxious about the snapper manipulation � the giganto-speculum, the cotton swabs, the catheter, and the pressure of the ultrasound wand on my abdomen all made for excruciating sensations.

The transfer was quick; once they were done they sent the catheter over to the lab to double-check that no one stowed away in the cath. The ultrasound tech replayed the video of the transfer � I could see the catheter going into my uterus and I could see a little white dot (�that�s the embryos� said Dr. Sunshine).

So now I�ve got two embryos floating around in my uterus.*

I�m on two days of house arrest. No heavy lifting, no chores, no nothing. Just hanging out, relaxing, and thinking sticky thoughts. Over the next day or two, the blastocysts should finish hatching and will hopefully implant their little selves into my uterus. Hope hope hope.


* Not an accurate statement. They�re not embryos, they�re blastocysts. And they�re not floating around, they�re probably just kinda stuck there.

** Snapper is my new favorite euphemism for vagina. I enjoy how George Carlin emphasizes its evolution as a word from the original usage, �snappin� pussy.�

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�