��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

November 19, 2006

Baby stuff, baby stuff.

I�ve done a lot of baby stuff this weekend.

Got the baby�s room organized (furniture where I want it, stuff on the walls, pretty much ready to go).

Washed all of her clothes and got them organized.

Put together her �coming home from the hospital� stuff. Basically her diaper bag filled with a few blankets, a couple of outfits (depending on what size she ends up being!), some socks, a little hat, and some diapering supplies just in case.

I don�t have my bag packed yet � I sort of have the attitude of, �Eh, I�ll figure that out later.� I suppose that�s how it goes when you have kids, right? Them first, you second. It�s already started, and I�m fine with that.

Bought and put together one of those awful over-the-toilet storage thingies from Target. You know, one of these doohickeys:

I hate them with a passion, but her bathroom is teeny and I need storage in there for towels and washcloths and baby bath stuff.

It�s assembled and lying on the floor of the nursery, waiting for Blue to come and move it into place in the bathroom.

What else did I do?

Hmm.

Got a whole bunch of schoolwork done. Most of it, really. And by most of it, I mean most of the stuff that needs to be done before the end of the semester. RAH! I have to give a presentation this week, turn in a bunch of paperwork, and that�s about all she wrote. I have a few final bits of paperwork to finish up and turn in before December 5th, but nothing that will take more than an hour or two at the most.

The carseat I ordered was delivered � and they sent THE WRONG ONE. Oooooooh drat, I�m bummed. I wanted to have that over and done with. Now I have to call the place tomorrow, have them figure out how to compensate me for shipping the thing back, and then get the right one out here pronto.

When I say they sent the wrong one, I simply mean they sent the wrong color. Which, normally, I think I could roll with. However, the plastic color on the one they sent is white (the plastic on the one I ordered is black). I originally thought I�d just keep it � but after playing with it for a few minutes to see how the base snaps into the car I noticed that the white handle was ALREADY getting dirty.

Forget that � I can deal with a different color fabric than what I wanted � but I can�t deal with white plastic that�s going to get filthy. That�d drive me up a tree.

So tomorrow � back it goes.

----------

I seem to have misplaced my ankles, and didn�t find them while doing my chores around this house this weekend. Apparently my fluid accumulation problem from a week ago is back with a vengeance.

I was on my feet for five hours on Friday, and since then I�ve had Staypuft Marshmallow ankles.

Ugh. It�s really disturbing. Really, really disturbing. So much so that I said to Blue, �We have to plan all of our future pregnancies� (note the optimism there) �so that I never have to wear sandals in my third trimester. I don�t want anyone to see my feet!�

He laughed at me. He�s been doing that a lot, lately. I ask you, is it right to laugh at a 36-and-a-half-week pregnant lady? Especially one who is carrying your child? It�s a punishable offense, I think.

----------

Going back to the photographer tomorrow.

Going to get a few more pregnancy photos taken.

I believe my number one message to the artist will be: NO SHOTS OF MY ANKLES, THANK YOU.

We�ll see if this batch of maternity photos turns out better than the first batch. I�m keeping my fingers crossed.

----------

I�d love to go to bed � but if I crawl into bed, all I will do is toss and turn and not get any sleep. So I�m going to do what I�ve been doing a lot of lately � staying awake until I am absolutely, positively exhausted and then crawling into bed to go to sleep. It ensures at least 4 good hours of sleep. Really. It�s a technique I�ve perfected over the past few weeks.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�