��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

November 05, 2006

The baby doesn't like Seinfeld.

Feeling slightly better now about the whole family drama.

I attempted to call my sibling about 4 times and have only gotten her voicemail. The longer it goes without talking to her, the less bad I feel. I wanted to resolve things ASAP � but now I feel like everything is diffused a bit and it�ll be a much easier conversation.

So that�s good.

I also appreciate the advice in my comments � I wasn�t sure that post was even coherent enough to follow!

----------

Blue owns his own business. And his company�s big yearly project is done in a week. It usually falls in November, which means that life and work for him are pretty stressful in the few months leading up to (and including most of) November.

I�ve been helping out as much as I can � although I�m a nurse and he�s a business guy, I used to be in business and I understand (and can do) a lot of what he needs done. At times like this I buckle down and figure that it�s really a family business that I have the wonderful option of not working for most of the time � but I don�t want to just ride the gravy train, either. If I can help and he needs help, I�ll help. (Not all the time, mind you ... otherwise I�d sign up to be a full-time employee with, you know, salary and stuff � ha ha.)

So we�ve been spending a lot of time working. We worked all day yesterday and we�ll work all day today. It�s 8:20am on a Sunday and he�s already at the office. I�ve got some housework to get done first (vacuum, sweep the floors, tidy up kitchen and bathrooms), and then I�ll head to the office as well.

A part of me wishes that I didn�t have to work today � I�d rather put my feet up and lay around like a slug! Or buy baby stuff � still haven�t done that yet. But I do get a sense of accomplishment when I can do things for the business that he doesn�t have time for, or doesn�t have the skillset for � so it�s not a terrible thing to have to work today, either. And since it�s a family business and not a true employer situation, it somehow doesn�t feel like work-work. It feels like family teamwork.

So that�s what I�ll mostly do today.

----------

I have one more big project for my class � a seminar I have to deliver. (Gotta work on that tonight after I get home from working at the family business all day.) I have four more classes to attend. Then I am done. Graduated. Finished.

I said to Blue the other day, �I�m so glad to be almost done. I can�t wait to graduate.�

�Hmm, we�ll see how long that lasts,� he replied.

�What do you mean?� I asked.

�You love school too much to stay out for too long.� He replied.

He�s right. I�m a school junkie. I love learning. Two master�s degrees and I�d have a total Ph.D. (instead of the useless 3/4 of a Ph.D. that I currently have) if my former (bad) marriage hadn�t taken precedence over my school stuff.

But I do need a break � NOW. I�m burned. I�m toast. I�m tired of jumping through the graduate student hoops that you have to jump through. (Even though I know they�re just hoops and they�re not really problematic. They still get tiresome.)

I�m going to optimistically purchase a cap and gown and hood for the graduation ceremony � even though it is scheduled for about a week before my due date. We�ll see if I make it to the ceremony or not!

----------

We got to go see Jerry Seinfeld perform the other night. We were both delighted and a little disappointed. Delighted because he was pretty �on.� Disappointed because he had some laryngitis (don�t know if he was sick or if his voice was just tired), so some of the nuances of the jokes didn�t carry very well. One of the things he�s so good at is conveying humor simply by his tone of voice and inflection. Those things tend to get lost with laryngitis. So it wasn�t as great as it could have been � but it was still terrific.

The funniest part of the whole evening was finding out that the baby did NOT appreciate the outing.

I�m thinking it was the combination of my continuous laughing (tensing my belly, the jiggling of the ha-ha-has, plus the noise) and the noise of laughter and applause from the audience � but she was kind of agitated. Which was a little bit amusing.

She normally sits the same way all the time � her head is down, her back curves up along the right side of my uterus, and her legs are curved around the top of my uterus (in prime position for thunking me in the ribs).

By the middle of the show she had twisted around so that her back was along the left side of my uterus, and she was poking me with both arms, kicking my ribs with both legs, and bonking her head repeated on my cervix.

At one point I totally stopped laughing, shifted in my chair, and sat kind of stretched-out, trying to keep her calm. (I wasn�t really worried about her agitation, which is probably too strong of a word to describe the reaction, as much as I was just uncomfortable from all of the shifting and banging going around in there.)

�Everything okay?� Blue asked.

�Yep,� I replied.

After the show, Blue asked if she had been acting up � and I told him the story. We had a good chuckle � �Well we know she doesn�t like Seinfeld!� he said.

Too bad she�s going to be stuck watching re-runs when they come on TV.

----------

Time to get off of my butt and get out the vacuum cleaner. It�s 8:30am on a Sunday � time to get the chores done.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�