��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

October 10, 2006

Pleasant surprise.

Surprise, surprise.

I very much liked the doctors that I met today. Went to a �meet the pediatricians� thingie at their offices, and they were are quite nice. A range of ages (a few old crusty docs, a couple of young pups, and a couple in between). All had a philosophy of child rearing that suits me: kids are individuals, and we don�t cookie-cutter them in our care. In other words, if you want to discuss things like delayed immunization schedules, they�re open to it. �We recognize that all parents and kids are different. And that there are a lot of ways to raise a child. As long as we don�t feel like you�re hurting your child, we�ll be supportive of you and help you as much as possible.�

Excellent.

They had three waiting rooms: a sick waiting room, a well waiting room, and an adolescent waiting room so that the older kids don�t have to sit around with the babies. NICE!

They have their own lab and X-ray.

The office staff has been there a long time � very little turnover. The nurses all seemed pretty sharp.

The six doctors do not play hot potato with your child; you will always see your child�s doctor, unless that doctor is �sick, dead, or gone.�

So there you go. A pleasant surprise for me, who expected the worst and got the best.

Another thing checked off the list. Yay! We found our pediatrician.

----------

Not much else going on. Halfway through today I lost my steam. Yesterday was seriously productive. This morning was seriously productive. Then at about 2pm, I simply pooped out. Almost passed out, I was so suddenly drained.

A nice nap when I got home set me straight, and I�m feeling okay again.

Tomorrow should be a quiet day � working with Blue for at least a few hours. Other than that, no plans.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�