��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

August 16, 2006

Pain, pain, go away ...

Pain update:

Worse today. Talked to the doctor�s office again � we ruled out everything but round ligament pain. (No appendicitis, gallstones, kidney stones, uterine issues, Braxton Hicks, yada yada yada.)

So they gave me prescriptions for Vicodin (narcotic pain killer) and Flexeril (muscle relaxant) and told me to chill out for a few days. (�Gee, you�ll be stoned!� my husband said when he heard about my drug cocktail. �I�ll be able to take advantage of you!� I laughed. �As long as the pain is gone, be my guest!�)

Why am I having this weirdo pain?

�Perhaps you�re in such good shape that your abdominal muscles and ligaments are just a lot tighter than most people,� the nurse offered.

Yeah. I�m in decent shape thanks to all of the working out, but I�m not in THAT toned. Heh.

Apparently this amount of pain is unusual but not unheard of.

Lucky me!

I�m not complaining � it means that my baby girl is growing the way she�s supposed to. Now, my body just needs to catch up with the baby�s growth. Hopefully once things start really stretching, this pain will go away. They weren�t really able to offer any thoughts on how long the pain might last � �a few days, a few weeks� was the best she could come up with. I�m hoping for the former.


P.S. I am now well on my way to getting stoned on the painkillers and will be napping in short order. Looking forward to a pain-free few hours.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�