��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

August 03, 2006

Time, time, time.

Yesterday�s freak out might have been in response to my body feeling bad.

I felt like I had been hit by a bus all day yesterday. I even broke down and took some Tylenol for my sore muscles (I rarely take any medication now that I�m pregnant � only when I have to). I curled up in bed for a while just to rest my body � not to sleep. And I begged my husband to rub my back, shoulders and quads for a few minutes (and then, instead of whining for more when he stopped, simply whimpered my thanks and gingerly rolled over).

Why was I feeling so crappy?

Apparently, my workout Tuesday morning was exceptionally hard. I didn�t realize that � I thought I was being exceptionally wussy at the gym. My trainer would laugh a little when I�d have to pause between reps on whatever machine I was on, puffing as though I had been running a marathon. Now I realize that she probably cranked up all of the weight a bit and that�s why I struggled the whole time at the gym and that�s why I felt so bad over the next 48 hours.

Aaaah. At least it all makes sense.

So maybe I�m not freaking out so much about being a mom. Maybe I was just cranky and wrung out.

----------

I signed up for childbirth classes today. The classes are in October. How weird is that?

Frankly, I could skip the childbirth classes. As a student nurse I assisted with about a dozen births � I�ve seen good birth, bad birth, vag birth, cesarean birth, birth with drugs, birth without drugs, birth with live babies, birth with dead babies � I think I�m pretty prepared for what goes on in the labor and delivery room.

My husband, however, has not had that experience. In fact, he has really no clue what is going to go on in the L&D room, doesn�t know what he�s going to need to do to support me, and I think he needs the classes. He keeps saying things like, �I don�t know why you think you need me in the delivery room, anyway.� And while I know he�s joking, I also know he�s not joking.

So we�re going to go to class together � so he can be a bit more prepared for this whole birth thing.

It�ll be interesting to see how he reacts to the classes.

----------

Blue liked his gift.

I got him a huge clock.

See:

He likes clocks. I saw it while I was waiting for his watch to be fixed. (It was a time theme.) So I plunked down the cash and lugged the 26-pound clock through the shopping mall with me.

He loves it.

So much that the art above our mantle immediately got bumped so that the big-ass clock could go up there.

Cool!

He�s hard to shop for. I have a great deal of satisfaction and a sense of accomplishment that I could buy him something he likes.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�