��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

June 19, 2006

Memory lane.

What will be the baby�s room used to be our guest bedroom and my storage room. The queen bed is gone from the room, so it sits mostly empty � except for the closet. The closet is full of my �stuff.�

I decided it was time to start going through my stuff (boxes of clothes, letters, photos, books, etcetera) � time to consolidate, get rid of stuff, and make room for baby.

I was able to get through about five boxes of stuff before I pooped out. I threw out about three-quarters of what I went through. It was fun reading my graduate school rejection letters from 1994 � I played the �where would I be now if I had gone to X University instead of Y University for my first Master�s degree?� game � for a few minutes. Then I tossed the letters. I don�t suppose I need them to remind me of my life choices (which, by the way, couldn�t have worked out better if I had tried), but it really was fun to see them again.

I can only do a few hours of that kind of cleaning at a time, though. I refuse to rush, I enjoy memory lane, and I don�t want to burn out too fast.

----------

I met a woman for coffee today and gave her all of my unopened, leftover fertility medications. The stuff I gave her was worth at least a few hundred dollars, and I certainly won�t need it before it expires. And hopefully it�ll make her next cycle a little less painful (financially $peaking).

It felt a little jinxy to be getting rid of the medication now. But if something is going to cause a miscarriage, it�s not clearing out my fridge and getting rid of medication I couldn�t use anyway, even if I did miscarry.

It was also nice to spend an hour talking about infertility with someone who has gone through basically the same stuff I�ve gone through. She�s finally over an ectopic pregnancy, and is ready to try again. My ectopic was in January, so it is close enough to still feel pretty fresh and painful.

I don�t know � hopefully it wasn�t too awkward with me being pregnant and her not being pregnant. She cycled right around the time I did, so she�d be about as far along as I am now. So maybe it was excruciating to sit across the table from me and be pleasant � I don�t know. If so, she hid it gracefully.

I would like to continue to learn how to handle life more gracefully. Really.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�