��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

June 18, 2006

A new look for the journal. Sort of.

Well, really, it�s an old look for the journal. You just might not have seen it before. Although Kathy and Jennifer (not Jen, my in real life friend who reads this, but Jennifer my diaryland buddy who has had a journal for just as long as I have) have seen this look before.

I�ve had an online journal since 2001. Catniptea is the third incarnation of this journal.

The first journal carried me from about March 2001 until March 2002. That was when I realized that my ex-husband was reading my old journal and I wanted to say things that I didn�t want him reading.

So I started #2 in 2002, and kept it up until October of 2005.

At that point, I realized I had mentioned quite a bit of personal information in journal #2 that, taken individually, would mean nothing. But taken as a whole, I worried that people might find the journal. Not because of me, but because of my husband (my current, future and last husband). He�s kind of high profile in his field, and I put some big, flashing pointers to him in the old journal.

So I bailed on journal #2, and started this one: journal #3.

This design is actually my design from journal #2.

Confused yet?

Anyway. I enjoyed my �infertility� theme for the past eight months � it was very cathartic to create the sperm-meets-petri-dish design for this journal. But I was starting to feel boxed-in by the look. Because although my struggle with infertility has been a big part of my life over the past few years, it doesn�t define me � and the label was starting to feel limiting.

So I bailed on the �infertility theme� tonight and went back to my old, contemplative look and feel.

Welcome back, Etty. I missed your guidance.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�