��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

June 08, 2006

Swimming dogs, laughing owner.

A good morning so far.

I really think I have the first trimester blahs beaten!

I woke up around 8 and had a nice, leisurely breakfast. Then I took the dogs to the dog park for about an hour. They ran, swam, played, got muddy, met several other dogs and had a barkin� good time.

I love watching the dogs discover new things � today, the boy discovered that if he sticks his head all the way underwater with his eyes open, he can see stuff and pick it up. He retrieved several sticks for me and was oh so happy to have learned that skill. And our girl, who we�ve only had since February, had never been to the dog park and, as far as I know, had never gone swimming! So she slowly figured out how fast she could run in the stream, and how deep it would get before she�d have to swim � and she went from timid to bold in about ten minutes.

And the neatest thing was, I get to do this again, next year, with a baby. (No, I won�t toss the baby into the creek and let it try to swim.) Watching a young creature figure things out � won�t that be FUN?

Anyway, I brought the dogs home and threw them into the backyard, and then one by one, they got baths via the hose on the driveway. (�Contestant number one! It�s your turn for a bath!�)

Now they�re in the post-bath hyper spaz mode � ten more minutes of this and they�ll both be dead asleep on the floor.

I�m going to curl up in the air conditioning with a book for a while � then at 1pm, my mom is coming over and we�re going to spend some girl time in the pool.

YAY!

Tonight while Blue is watching the first game of the NBA finals, I will be working on a little bit of work for his company.

A nice, quiet day. Happiness. Peace. Aaahhh.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�