��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

May 24, 2007

The intrepid traveler.

Baby Catnip is a travelin� fool. She ROCKS travel.

Color me surprised!

That�s right, I was verrrrry skeptical about last weekend�s trip. I thought for sure my little High Needs Princess would fuss and cry on the plane, fuss and cry when being passed from family member to family member, and fuss and cry at the wedding.

I�m here to tell you that my little kiddo is an ANGEL when she travels. For the most part, she slept or played quietly on the various plane flights. She enjoyed all of the attention she got from family members � she adores being adored. And she grooved at the wedding.

She missed just about every nap for four days, but she still held up like a total trooper. I was WAY crankier than she was.

Blue and I talked about it and we figured out that she�s just a kid who needs a TON of stimulation. The more the better. If she�s sitting around in the same place all the time she gets bored and starts yelling at us. But when she�s going, moving, seeing, doing � she�s COOL.

Way to go, Baby Catnip! That�s my girl!

----------

Not surprisingly, the poor kiddo picked up a bug at some point during her travels. (We all did � I have a sore throat and I�m achey and tired. Blue has serious sinus congestion. And Baby Catnip has the sniffles like crazy.)

Okay, pet peeve time � I don�t care if you�re family. I don�t care if you�re grandparents. I don�t care who you are � it really, really grosses me out when you put my child�s hands in your mouth.

I know, I know. Everyone loves babies. And she�s a gorgeous baby (not just saying that because I�m her mom � she really is a cute girl). I tried really hard to be understanding of all of the strangers who wanted to touch her. You know � flight attendants and fellow plane passengers and the TSA agent, etc. But I was also conscious of it and tried to keep her away from people who were clearly carrying the plague.

I couldn�t avoid, though, the little old lady who came out of the bathroom stall and immediately grabbed the baby�s hand and cooed at her. Inside, I was cringing. Straight from the bathroom stall to my baby�s hands, without washing her own hands first. Then, of course, we got to Baby Catnip�s grandparents� house and they were all over the baby, putting her hands in their mouths. Because this peeves me so much, I was secretly (I know, I�m going to hell) giggling at the fact that the grandparents had old-lady-who-hadn�t-washed-her-hands germs in their mouths.

Anyway. Not surprising that she picked up a bug, what with everyone slobbering all over her. I didn�t see a ton of purposeful handwashing up there in the Midwest. Yeeich.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�