��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

May 01, 2006

The miracle that is cake.

I read the fisher queen�s blog entry for today (May 1) � I read about her strawberry shortcake adventure and I realized something.

I should eat whatever the heck sounds good right now.

I�ve been trying to be careful � eat as much healthy food as I can while giving into a few cravings as necessary.

Screw that! Screw that, I say!

Fisher Queen�s entry brought to light in my own mind my biggest carbohydrate craving ever: cupcakes. Store-made, white or yellow cake with white buttercream frosting. White sugar on top of white sugar.

So when I went to the grocery store, I wanted to make a beeline for the bakery aisle. I didn�t. I stopped at the potato chips (in the cart!) and Doritos (in the cart!) � then bought stuff for dip (in the cart!), some great fruit (in the cart!) � then hit the bakery aisle.

To my horror, they didn�t have any cupcakes.

However (god bless the bakery people), they had small sheet cakes. Yellow cake, white buttercream frosting. That�s like a giant cupcake.

So I bought one.

Yeah!!!!

Haven�t indulged yet. Waiting for the right moment. Waiting until the current queasiness subsides. Then I�m all over that cake.

----------

I am a horrible friend.

I forgot my friend Freddie�s birthday.

And worse � I didn�t realize he was turning 40!

I thought he was a youthful 38 or so. I swear.

Dang. I feel bad.

Happy Birthday, Freddie! You make 40 look fabulous!!


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�