��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

April 24, 2006

Complete with heartbeat.

Like I predicted, we ended up having to wait nearly an hour before we were brought back to the exam room. It cracks me up every time we�re led back to an exam room, because a nurse will tell me, �Just remove everything from the waist down and he�ll be right in.� As if I didn�t know. The exam rooms are teeny. There�s a counter with a sink. An ultrasound machine. A ginormous gyno exam table (short, with stirrups in the �welcome!� position). And a chair for the husband. And that�s it. Everything in the room screams �take everything off from the waist down!�

So I giggled after she told me that, like I always do.

Then I dropped trou and jumped on the table and waited.

The doc came in and shook both our hands. We chit-chatted for a minute, and he grabbed the ultrasound wand and said, �Well, let�s take a look and see what�s going on.�

I assumed the position (I�m so obedient) and waited while he fished around with the wand.

�There�s your uterus, and there�s your pregnancy.� He said, pointing to a dark blob. Then he fished around a little more, and we saw movement. �There�s the heartbeat. Congratulations.�

I just stared at the screen, my mouth agape. He fiddled with the machine some more and all of a sudden, we were listening to the heartbeat. We could see it, and we could hear it! The baby (I suppose you�re not even supposed to call it that yet, right? Whatever.) is only 6.3mm long, yet we could hear the heartbeat.

That�s when I started to cry.

My RE typed �Baby Catnip!!!� (complete with the three exclamation points) on the screen. Then he printed out two copies of the ultrasound � one for him, and one for us. And he gave me a huge hug.

All I could say is, �Thank you. What a gift. Thank you.�

�Don�t thank me,� he said, pointing to Blue. �Thank that guy.� Ok, don�t be too modest, Dr. Fertiligenius. Because you did a lot of hard work to get us to this point. (I was thinking it, I didn�t say it.)

�So are we out of the woods?� I asked.

�At this point, the miscarriage rate is no more than 5-10%. So you�ve got a 90-95% chance of delivering this baby.�

So there you go. We saw a heartbeat. And it was beautiful!

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�