��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

April 24, 2006

Not calm. No peace. Making myself nuts.

Shitfire. Couldn�t sleep at all last night. We have our ultrasound scheduled for about three and a half hours from now. Oh, hell, let�s face it � Dr. Fertiligenius is NEVER on time. So while we will be there in about three and a half hours, we will not have our ultrasound for at least four hours and fifteen minutes from now.

My parents came over last night to have dinner with us. They brought us our first baby gift. I�m six weeks, three days pregnant. It�s a little soon for baby gifts. But they�re excited that things are going well (so far) and who can blame them? They�ve watched us ride the trying-to-conceive rollercoaster since 2004 � this will (hopefully) be their first grandchild. So it�s nice.

The gift was the silver baby bowl and spoon that have been in the family since 1917. Grandma, Mom, my sibling and I have all used it. And now I get to feed Chip with it. How sweet. But who uses sterling silver? Seriously. Too funny.

But I can�t also help but feel jinxed. Argh, people, I haven�t seen a heartbeat yet! Don�t put the cart before the horse. When you do that, bad things happen.

Of course that�s silly. There�s no jinxing out there. One is not related to the other. And the baby will be fine or it won�t on its own merits, not because Mom gave me the heirloom bowl and spoon.

That hasn�t stopped me from being a total freak about today�s ultrasound, though. What if we don�t see anything? What if it�s a blighted ovum? What if we see something but something is wrong � slow heartbeat, weird shape, horns and a tail (I will blame Blue for that last one)? What if there are twins? What if everything is fine and I end up really having this baby?

I know it�s only been about three weeks since I�ve known that I�m pregnant � but like I said before, until I get to at least 28 weeks, I have this ugly feeling that I�m going to continue to be anxious about everything. Dang. That�s just not a good thing.

Trying to relax. To know I can�t control anything, here. It�s going to be what it�s going to be. Aaaaaaah, all so much easier said than done.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�