��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

February 06, 2006

Tell me to do what I want, or I'll do it anyway.

I�ll say this for Mick Jagger: he�s hot.

I mean, come on. He�s older than my dad, but he doesn�t have an ounce of body fat on him and he�s in better physical shape than 90% of the adults in the U.S.

In fact, I bet even infertility hormones wouldn�t put weight on the guy.

Blue and I were lucky enough to see the Stones live in November. We know someone who is cool enough to be able to score VIP tickets to big shows in Vegas. We aren�t cool enough to get them ourselves � but our friend-of-a-friend came through and so we got awesome tickets to see the Stones.

It was absolutely a show to remember - one of the best concerts I�ve ever seen, and I�ve seen a lot of shows. I used to make fun of Mick and Keith for being so old and continuing to tour. Then I saw them, and I realized they absolutely rock.

I was glad to see them during the Superbowl yesterday � I thought the sound was horrible (a big TV network, a big corporation, and a big act that does stadium shows all the time can�t get the music to sound good??) but I just loved seeing Mick.

Before I saw them live the first time, the fella who was kind enough to score us freebie VIP tickets said to me, �Are you one of those women who thinks Mick is hot?� and I replied, �Eew, no way, he�s older than my dad!�

About four songs into the show, I turned to this guy and screamed, �Hey! Remember what I said about Mick not being hot? I changed my mind. He�s HOT!�

He turned to me and screamed back, �I know, he�s TOTALLY hot!�

Heh.

----------

I did something really strange sounding today. I make a weird purchase. I mean, a weird enough purchase that I felt I needed to make excuses to the checkout lady.

You see �

I bought $100 worth of hair spray.

Well, wait, I take that back. It was $95.34 worth of hair spray. Under the three-digit mark, thanks.

Why?

Because they�ve discontinued the kind I like. The only kind I have used and liked in the past six years. And now the company has sold out to another company and they changed the formula.

Well FUCK YOU HAIRSPRAY PEOPLE, I like the old formula.

So I bought eight cans of it, at $12 a pop.

And I would�ve bought ten cans � every single one on the shelf � if I could�ve reached the last two. But they were on the top shelf at the store and waaaaaaay back in the back and I just felt so schmucky that I was already buying such a ridiculous amount of hairspray that I made myself be happy with eight cans.

Although I will be at that store next week and if by some stretch of the imagination they still have the last two cans on the shelf, you bet your ass I�m buying them.

Then I can go at least a YEAR without having to make a change. I despise change when it comes to haircare products.

----------

I finally bit the bullet and called my doctor�s office to complain about my lack of period. The nurse got a little uppity and explained that it could take up to six weeks for my little period to show up.

�Well, I don�t want to wait six weeks. Ask the doctor if I can take progesterone to get this thing jump-started.�

She didn�t like taking orders. But she�s going to call me back. If the answer isn�t yes, I�m going to do it anyway. Heh.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�