��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

November 30, 2006

Newest and bluest.

Still about 1 and a half centimeters dilated, 25% effaced � and she is LOW. The OB was poking my daughter�s head through the cervix (and I got kicked in the ribs as a response). I�m 38 weeks pregnant � which means I have two more weeks until my estimated delivery date. She could come now. She could come next week. She could come on December 29th. Who knows.

I am feeling very funky today. Totally unmotivated, and maybe a little bummed out. No real reason � just somehow I feel like I�m in suspended animation today. I have a few things I need to get done, but otherwise I feel like I�m wading through mud or fog or something. I�m just slow and quiet.

I started packing my own bag for the hospital. I�ve had enough people tell me, �You REALLY should do that ��

So far, I�ve packed: a bathrobe, my toiletries, and a pack of maxi pads. (Yeah, I know the hospital will give you pads �have you SEEN the pads the hospital will give you? They�re really freaking long, they�re ungainly, they don�t stick, and they don�t have wings! I bled all over EVERYTHING before and after my ectopic surgery � and it was because the hospital pads are just awful. I prefer my own stock, thanks. Too much information?)

My next step is to make a list of all of the things that can�t be packed until the day I leave. You know, stuff I use everyday. Hair dryer. Slippers. iPod. Yada yada.

I�ll shove the list in the bag, and then when I go into labor, I can easily retrieve the list and calmly pack those last things without having a major freak-out. (Or maybe not. But that�s the plan.)

(Ten bucks says I don�t make the list until at least Monday of next week. God, I�m totally procrastinating on this and I don�t know why.)

----------

Not much else going on. My mother and I are splitting up the work of making Christmas cookies this year. Instead of us both making cookies separately, we�re doing them together, which is nice. And since she�s working all week and I�m not, I volunteered to get the cut-out cookies cut out � and then we�ll decorate them together.

I just whipped up two batches of dough, and they�re in the fridge getting cool. I�ll cut out and bake all of the cookies tonight, I guess.

I am hoping that I don�t eat all of the Christmas cookies too early � because I have a crazy sweet tooth right now. I got a Williams-Sonoma catalog in the mail yesterday and I was flipping through it and saw their peppermint bark advertised � oh my god. I started salivating. I don�t normally like the chocolate and peppermint combo, but around the holidays I LOVE it. And now that I�m so far along in the pregnancy, all I can think about is eating sweets.

I don�t eat that much sweet stuff � but I am sure obsessing about it. Thank god for willpower or I�d weigh 200 pounds right now.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�