��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

November 21, 2006

Truth is.

Not much progress on the baby front.

I�m 1.5 centimeters dilated (although with all of the digging around in there she did, I was convinced she was trying to manually get me to 2cm on the spot). And the baby has dropped lower (which I already knew, as evidenced by my every-fifteen-minute need to pee.

But really, neither of those facts mean much.

I could deliver within the next two weeks, and be early. I could hit my due date. Or I could still end up being induced at 42 weeks.

Not very exciting � which is okay, I guess.

A friend of mine advised me today NOT to pack my bag for the hospital early. She thinks I�ll know I�m about to go into labor when I get into a packing frenzy. Interesting theory.

----------

I finished my last big project for school today.

That means I have about an hour and a half of paperwork to finish up in the next few weeks and I�m done.

I�m feeling a big letdown right now. Maybe it�s because I�m graduating early and not really finishing what I thought I was going to finish. Maybe it�s because the last time I got a Master�s degree, I did so after giving birth to a 130-page thesis that absolutely rocked � and this time I feel like I have NO academic legacy with this degree.

I don�t know.

I suppose it doesn�t really matter. In a few weeks, I�ll be so preoccupied with my newest family member that I won�t really care.

Today, though � I�m feeling the letdown.

-----------

Hmm � got asked in my comments whether I�m going to post any of my maternity pictures.

I don�t know. I might. Let�s see how the second round turns out.

Worst case, if I don�t post one or two, I�ll email you one or two if you really want to see them. Send me an email at infertilehurdle at yahoo dot com and I�ll zap you some pictures when I get them.

----------

Blue and I went out to a really fabulous dinner tonight, just on the spur of the moment. We had a lovely meal at Ruth�s Chris Steakhouse. Yum! The steaks were perfect � so good, in fact, that I ate about 2/3 of mine (something I haven�t done since before the pregnancy). Lovely garlic mashed potatoes and saut�ed mushrooms on the side. Tasty, tasty, tasty.

I asked Blue, �Are you going to miss this?�

�Miss what?� he replied.

�The freedom to just pick up at the last minute and go to a fancy restaurant for dinner without having to plan around a baby.�

�Honestly, now that we�ve gotten to the point where we can do pretty much whatever we want, whenever we want � all I really want to do is stay home with you and the baby.�

Awww.

What a guy.

The thing is, he wasn�t bullshitting. He totally means it. Which is awesome.

I pretty much feel the same way. I think we�re going to have a pretty nice time together with our new daughter.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�