��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

November 16, 2006

Spa ... aaaaah.

Well, what can I say �

It was no eight hours of solid sleep, but the spa was a good substitute.

My 80-minute massage was pretty close to perfect. The only downside was that I was on one side for about 40% of the time and on the other side for about 40% of the time � which meant that I alternated which shoulder was asleep. But really, who cares, because it was pretty terrific.

My facial was weird. It was the first time I had had a facial with �extractions.� In other words, she squeezed my blackheads.

Yeah. Um. Ew.

I knew I needed it � that�s the one thing I�ve noticed on my face during this pregnancy � more clogged pores.

But it�s just weird to pay someone to squeeze your blackheads. (At least it is for me!) The facial massage was heavenly � and the table was really comfy, so I was very, very relaxed.

The pedicure was great. I had more fun talking with the girl who was doing my feet than I had had in a long time. We bitched about in-laws (although I don�t really have much to bitch about � they�re pretty cool people). We talked about beauty. We talked about kids and husbands. It was fun!

Overall, a great, relaxing day.

I even spent about nine minutes in the sauna before lunch. I got a chill and knew that I couldn�t do the steam room or the whirlpool � but I knew a few minutes in the sauna would be safe for the baby. So I sat there and just soaked up the heat for a few minutes until I was feeling toasty, and then I went to lunch.

Lunch was simple. I started with the homemade guac and chips (180 calories). Then had the salad with strawberry-balsamic dressing (175 calories). Then finished with a cup of frozen yogurt, chocolate and peanut butter swirled (who cares about the calories). Yum.

I didn�t want to come home, mostly. Except that I knew I should let the dogs out before they peed on my clean carpets.

Now I�m home, I got some school work done, and I�m sitting here enjoying the feeling of my daughter�s hic-hic-hic-hic-hiccups.

Bedtime soon.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�