��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

November 15, 2006

Downgraded.

The bad news is that I had to wait for two and a half hours at the OB�s office today � apparently they forgot I was there. NICE!

The good news is, everything is fine with me and the baby.

I even lost a pound between two weeks ago and today, and since we have been on Humongous Baby Alert, the doctor was flipping out about my 22-pound weight gain over the course of the pregnancy.

And the Red Alert on Godzilla Baby has been downgraded to Yellow. Because she�s no longer looking so huge. She�s settled in at a nice 56th percentile of size � much more reasonable. The prevailing theory is that she was going through a growth spurt last month and that�s what we were measuring � but that the trajectory of her growth was not from Big to Bigger.

So she might not end up being a 9+ pounder at birth. She might even end up in the mid 7�s.

Go figure.

The other good news is that I�m already 1cm dilated. (�Is that good?� I asked when she told me I was a centimeter. �Yep. Most first-time moms don�t start dilating until later. This is fine. It doesn�t mean you�ll go early or even on time � you could still be at 1cm at 41 weeks. But it�s good, because it means your body is progressing.� �Ah, okay.�)

And the baby is doing some nice breathing and swallowing. Her tummy was full and her bladder was full � so the swallowing is going well (she�s prepping for real food) and her kidneys are working. Cool!

And I�m doing well � my BP was a little higher than normal (110/72) but still in the way-low range. And my weight was fine. And the carpal tunnel � whatever. Can�t do anything about it.

So all in all � a good visit. It�s just too bad they forgot I was there � I would�ve liked to have gotten other things done today.

----------

I took a nap today � I was able to sleep for two hours! I felt like a new woman.

Tomorrow is Spa Day. I�m looking forward to it � although frankly, if I could do anything on the planet tomorrow, I�d rather have eight full hours of sleep than anything else. But since that�s not going to happen, I�ll take a massage, facial and pedicure, thanks.

----------

Just got an email from a good friend. His wife just had their baby � at 26 weeks. They�re doing as well as can be expected. The baby is in the NICU, where he�ll stay for quite a while. He is doing as well as a 26-weeker can be doing � which is to say that he�s having some trouble breathing, he�s got holes in his heart, he�s jaundiced, and there are other things going on as well.

Sigh.

It�s never easy, is it?

Poor little kid.

I�m starting to have some survivor�s guilt � why was I so lucky with this pregnancy?

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�