��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

November 02, 2006

Godzilla Baby.

Had my OB appointment yesterday and was surprised to learn that my doctor is MUCH more concerned about the baby�s large size than her PA was two weeks ago. (This is why I hate PAs. They are not as well trained or autonomous as advanced practice nurses � hell, PAs don�t even have their own licensure, while NPs and CNSes do. But I digress.)

Although I have only gained about 20 pounds (the only frigging time in my LIFE I will use the words �I only gained about 20 pounds�), she wants me to be careful about gaining more weight, because the baby is so big. She doesn�t want me to change a thing about what I�m eating, just exercise more.

Alright � while I admit I�ve slacked off on the exercise over the past four weeks or so � come ON. I spent the first 30 weeks of this pregnancy walking at least 2 miles a night and spending at least 2 days a week with a personal trainer. I�m no slug.

What I don�t get is how my exercising is going to stop a baby who is clearly predisposed to growing large from growing large. She�s going to take what she needs, regardless of what I use or don�t use. But I didn�t pursue it, because I was too distracted by the doctor�s next comments.

She mentioned that at the next visit, after the ultrasound, we�ll have to talk about how big the baby is, because big babies are harder to deliver. �We may need to think about scheduling other options,� she said.

Scheduling other options?

There�s ONE other option that can be �scheduled.�

Dang! I really don�t want to plan on a c-section. I always figured if it happened, it happened � but I hate the idea that we�ll have to consider scheduling one.

Of course, if Godzilla Baby keeps growing like she has, the doc may want to take her a little earlier, and if she�s that big, well, then a section is more likely.

You know � I was 5lbs 13oz when I was born (full term). Blue was about 6 and a half pounds. Where did this big baby come from? I don�t have gestational diabetes. I haven�t been bathing my fetus in sugar and fat for the past 34 weeks. What gives?

I joked with Blue that maybe the fertility doc put the wrong embryos back in. I giggled like mad while I was saying it (I thrive on black humor and gallows humor), but Blue immediately got mad and said, �Don�t even JOKE about something like that.�

Well, it would explain Godzilla Baby, if nothing else. But then again, if she were someone else�s embryo then she wouldn�t have my sense of humor, and that would be a terrible loss.

Otherwise, I�m healthy as a horse and the pregnancy is going great. Terrific blood pressure, I look good, I feel good (well, lower back pain, can�t sleep, yada yada, but really, I feel good), and I only have about 3 more weeks of stress with school and work before I can totally relax. So all in all, I suppose I should be counting my blessings.

Supposedly, the baby furniture delivery guy is going to deliver the rest of the baby furniture this afternoon. Although I will be cutting my workday short in order to come home and wait for him to show up, I will not be holding my breath until he arrives. Because this guy has been flaaaaaaaky from day ONE. When I called him yesterday to confirm that he�d be here today, I almost said, �And I�ll give you an extra hundred bucks if you actually show up, get everything delivered, and never have to come back.�

Heh. But I don�t think that would�ve made him any more motivated, so I didn�t bother.

I�m going to feed myself and Godzilla Baby a big bowl of Raisin Bran, then I�m going to shower and head to work.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�