��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

October 29, 2006

A little of this ,a little of that.

Not much new around here. My belly is continuing to expand as Godzilla Baby keeps getting bigger and bigger. I think I�m up about 20 pounds now � I�ve gained about 3 pounds in the past two weeks. Some of it has been water � some of it baby, and some of it has been (sigh) fat. I have this little fear in the back of my mind that I will gain at least 15 more pounds in the next six weeks. Not likely, I know, but geez, I feel like all I do is eat. (I thought by the time I was this huge and she was compressing my stomach that I wouldn�t *want* to eat � I guess that�s another old wives� tale that just got thrown out the window, dammit.)

We are 80% certain we�ve picked a first name for our daughter. I am 50% certain we have a middle name. Hey! By the time she�s delivered, we might be 100% certain of her name and we can write it down on her birth certificate and start calling her by that name! Very exciting.

The families organized a little shower for me last week. Very sweet. Nearly everyone gave me clothing for the baby, which is great. (Although some of it will have to be exchanged � all of those newborn �fits 5 to 8 pounds� outfits have to go back � she�s apparently going to outgrow them while she�s still in utero! But there were lots of pink surprises and it was lovely. Yesterday I sat in the baby�s room for a while looking at all of the things, and I picked up a little pink baby blanket and started to cry. I can�t believe we�re going to have a baby in about six weeks.

Continuing to sleep better on the funky new pillow, except for one thing: I wake up with the WORST cricks in my neck. I don�t care � I�ll walk around stiff and bent over all day if it means I SLEPT overnight. So I�m fine with the trade-off.

I dreamed about graduation last night. The ceremony sucked � it was about eight hours long and boring as heck. But apparently I will need no bobby pins to keep the cap on my head, and I will not end up with cap-head by the end of the ceremony. So there�s a decent trade-off for you, if it holds true in real life.

This week is going to be a hectic one for me � not sure I�ll be updating that much.

I have a visit with the OB on Wednesday. Since nothing new is happening, I doubt that it will be a very interesting visit. She won�t even check my cervix yet, because it�ll only be 34 weeks. So it�ll be a �Hi, how are you, feeling good? Okay, see you in two weeks� kind of visit.

Other than that, just lots of work to get done this week.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�