��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

October 18, 2006

Big baby. BIG baby.

Holy cow!

She�s a BIG BABY.

Oh dear. She�s already 4lbs, 13oz � that means she�s in the 74th percentile for weight. GEEZ! I�ve only officially gained 16 pounds. I�m eating some junk food (God, I�m not even going to link to that junk food list I made the other day) but I�m not going completely nutso on the junk or I�d have gained way more than 16 pounds by now.

If she keeps growing on target, she�ll be somewhere around 9 pounds when she is born.

I have one word to say in response to that news:

OUCH!

The good (great) news is that she is healthy, healthy, healthy. She�s breathing amniotic fluid. She�s drinking and swallowing it. She�s moving around like a champ.

So all is good. I don�t quite understand how she can be that big � I mean, I�m not a big woman. And I was teeny when I was born. And my husband isn�t a huge guy, and he was tiny when he was born. So apparently she�s just an overachiever already, and she hasn�t even made her official entrance yet!

The news of her size has obviously made me a little nervous. Her head circumference was pretty large, too .. and that�s the deciding factor on rips/tears/fitting through the pelvic inlet � yeouch.

Up until today I�ve been very cool about the whole birth thing. Hey, no problem, she�ll come out and it�ll be great. Now, all of a sudden, I have pictures in my mind of 4th degree tears and me screaming bloody murder. I should probably stop thinking now.

She�s healthy! I�m healthy! She�s joining us in about eight weeks. And � here�s a fun thought. The doc said, �Big babies have big gas tanks. That means they don�t have to eat as often, and usually they�ll sleep more during the night.� So there, I�ll end it on a happy note. Perhaps she�ll snooze like a champ from the get-go!

My goodness, she�s going to be a big baby.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�