��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

October 17, 2006

No exercise today.

Blue and I took a quick overnight trip to a nearby city last night. He had a business meeting yesterday evening, so we drove there in the morning (about 3 hours away). We checked in to our hotel (nice room!), we had dinner, he went to his meeting, and then we went to sleep. We got up this morning and drove back. It was just nice to get away for a day.

I didn�t sleep very well. The bed was really comfortable � but I woke up about once an hour and tossed and turned. It was too hot. There were lights in unfamiliar places in the room. The bed was bouncier than ours. (Yada yada yada � all of that and I still just hate sleeping on my side. Sigh.)

We got back today in time for me to throw a load of laundry in and drive to class. So I really didn�t do much today � sat in a car for three hours, took 45 minutes to do some chores, then sat in a car for 30 minutes, then sat in a classroom for 3 hours, then sat in a car for 30 minutes � a whole lot of sitting around.

And I�m tired.

Too tired to want to take the dogs for a walk. Too tired to want to do more chores. Too tired to exercise.

I�m trying not to feel guilty for not wanting to walk. Up until about week 29, I was good. I was walking at least 6 days out of 7. I was doing weights at least twice a week. And then all of a sudden it dropped to almost nothing. Maybe 3 walks a week. Maybe one workout a week.

Ugh. I know I have a great foundation � and one of the reasons I worked so hard on keeping fit for the first part of the pregnancy was I knew I�d get to the point where I�d be wanting to do less. But I still feel � I don�t know. I don�t know if it�s guilt, or if it�s sadness, or if it�s just that I�m too tired to think straight about it. All I know is I�m wishing I wanted to take the dogs for a walk, and 45% of me really cares that I don�t want to do it. (55% of me doesn�t care � and that part wins.)

Interestingly, I think that I�ve done a pretty good job with my attitude adjustment regarding sleep. In general, I�m keeping my spirits up and keeping from getting cranky. Now I think I just have to adjust my attitude a little further � to tell myself it�s okay that I can�t do everything I could do before. There�s a reason for it � a really good one. And she�s going to make her debut in this world in about eight weeks. And between now and then, if Mom needs less exercise and more rest � well, that�s going to have to be okay.

----------

Tomorrow is our 32 week ultrasound. I�m excited that we get to take a peek into our daughter�s little world and see how she�s growing. Because you can look at my belly and see that she�s getting bigger � but you really can�t tell how much is really *baby* in there.

Plus, I can usually only tell that she�s moving something in there, but normally I can�t figure out what body part it is. Sometimes I can feel her head, or feel her back, or feel her feet, but it�s unusual. Normally it�s just a pokey/thumpey feeling and God only knows what body part is flailing about. Tomorrow I�ll be seeing and feeling movement at the same time � and that�ll be cool. If it�s kicking, I�ll know it for sure.

----------

Tomorrow is also the day I have my maternity photo(s) taken. I am a little nervous and a lot psyched. Hopefully we�ll get some good pictures.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�