��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

October 09, 2006

The day so far.

Earlier today I said I would �

1. take a walk with the dogs
2. buy some pants that fit
3. go to the grocery store
4. get ahead on schoolwork
5. take a nap

Items numbered 1 through 4? Done. Also picked up some medicine for the cat. And did two loads of laundry. And got my mom�s birthday shopping done.

Go, me!

Not only that, but the maternity pants-buying portion of the day wasn�t as awful as it could have been. I actually found one pair of jeans and two pairs of casual pants that will get me through December. And two pairs of workout pants, because although I have gotten this far with the stretch of regular non-preggers workout clothes, It Was Time. And I added a cool long-sleeved T-shirt to the whole mix for good measure. (One of the malls in town has two maternity stores � I split the shopping between the two of them and found what I needed.)

Now I�m going to take that nap. I�m not actually really exhausted at the moment � but I figure I better nap while I have time, because you never know.

----------

Tomorrow I�m going to go to a �meet the pediatrician� thingie at a prospective pedi�s office. I am mostly disappointed in the choices of pediatricians that I have � and it�s due to the fact that most of the good ones in town don�t want to hassle with my insurance. My insurance coverage is excellent, which is why I am so ticked about the whole arrangement. Apparently my insurance company started putting the financial screws to pediatricians in the last year or so � since then, many of them have raised their collective middle fingers in the general direction of my insurance company and quit accepting patients who carry that insurance.

The referral I got to this particular pediatrician was a good one � my biggest concern is that he is in a practice with five other docs and I really, really, really wanted a smaller practice. I have no desire to take my child into a McPedi�s office and wait with five hundred other sniffling children in a jam-packed waiting room every time my child needs to see the doctor, only to be surprised by which doctor we�re getting to see because there are so freaking many of them in the practice. I was hoping for a solo practitioner or a two-man shop � apparently I am going to end up with a three-to-six physician minimum at any practice that will take my insurance.

I have high hopes for this practice, however � their office staff has been absolutely wonderful on the phone, and that is an excellent, excellent sign. (Says someone who works in a medical office.) So maybe the point is moot. However, watch now as I, too, raise a middle finger in the general direction of my insurance company. We�re not switching insurance until after the baby comes along (great maternity coverage, don�t rock the boat) � but if I can�t find a suitable pediatrician, then come the first of next year we will be switching to another company that doesn�t choose to screw with pedis in this town.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�