��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

September 11, 2006

Rain!

It�s my second entry for today � amazing, huh?

It seems like it hasn�t really rained in my part of Texas in about a year. I know that�s an exaggeration � it�s been more like six months.

Finally we�re expecting some good rain tonight. It�s already raining in far-off parts of town, so I figured it was a certainty that we�d get a little something.

Blue and I usually walk the dogs at night (because it�s been so durned hot out for the past, oh, forever or so). I looked at the sky about 30 minutes ago and thought, �Hmmm, we�re not walking the dogs tonight. I�d better do it now.�

So I futzed around with my iPod and my phone and getting ready, then I put leashes on the dogs and headed out.

I got about three good blocks from home (I�d say two-tenths of a mile) when the sky opened up.

Thank goodness I futzed with my iPod and stuff for as long as I did, or I would�ve been further away when the rain started.

As it was, the dogs and I only got mostly drenched by the time we got home. I jogged for about twenty seconds before realizing that I probably shouldn�t be running. So I went with it � I walked (quickly) home. And I rather enjoyed it.

The dogs acted like they were melting � they kept stopping to shake off the water and they�d look up at the sky as if to say, �Hey! Cut it out! I�m getting wet, here!�

We all made it home without incident (other than getting soaked).

So I got a smidge of exercise tonight. Not as much as I would�ve liked � but you can�t always get what you want, right?

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�