��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

September 11, 2006

Olive oil. Not just for cooking anymore.

26 weeks, 3 days pregnant. (For those of you who like to keep up with these things.)

The weekend flew by.

Saturday we spent all day at childbirth class. I have no amusing stories to report. It was your basic stuff � stages of labor, when you can have the epidural, how long it takes, how much you�re going to tear, yada yada.

Speaking of tearing � my doctor does not do routine episiotomies. Which is good. What she does, however, is freaking me out a little. She has the nurse take olive oil and do regular perineal massage from the time you get there until the time you deliver. At first I thought, �Cool � a little lubrication, and then some stretching � that helps keep tearing to a minimum, which is a good thing.�

Then I pictured myself laying on the bed, and the nurse with a bottle of olive oil, and it was my perineum being massaged, and � ugh. Not looking forward to that. Maybe they can hand Blue the bottle of oil and make themselves scarce for a while. Heh. Then again, maybe that�s just a bad idea for any number of reasons.

Anyway � that was the only thing I really learned at class. The rest was pretty much elementary stuff. That whole nursing school thing with the semester in labor and delivery really paid off. (I�m sure Blue learned a ton, since he�s never seen a live birth before � he even asked the teacher a few questions, which was cool.)

On Sunday I spent two hours cleaning the house, and then five hours painting the baby�s room. I�m close to being finished � but not quite. I can tell it�s going to look really really good when it�s done, though � which is very exciting.

My back is killing me today. All of that paint-rolling really did a number on me. Ugh ugh ugh. My kingdom for a massage.

Not much going on today. I woke up early and got a bunch of schoolwork done. I love my laptop � I grabbed it and crawled back into bed and did all of my work while cozied up with a cat and a mug of hot chocolate.

Now it�s 9:30 and I�m going to get out of bed, shower, and run a few errands. It�s not going to be an exciting day, which is nice.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�