��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

August 26, 2006

Stuff. We need lots of stuff.

The new comments section is working ... check it out at the bottom of each post. (I'm going to leave the link to the old guestbook for now ...)

----------

*** Warning - boring pregnancy-related post ahead ***

Six months pregnant. Never thought I�d be here.

My mom and I spent two hours yesterday at a baby store, so that I could get an idea of what I need to have in the house before the baby comes. (Also to get a list of things for a registry � I am being informed that a baby shower is in the plans and I was told I needed to provide a list �ASAP, please� so that family and friends have ideas of what we need.)

We went aisle to aisle, up and down the store, looking at everything from little towels and washcloths and carseats to swings and bassinets. I think the amount of stuff that you need for a baby is really overwhelming! And I�m a pretty conservative shopper � I didn�t fall for all of the �extras� that you really don�t need. I�m just talking about the basic baby stuff that you need to have on hand when you bring home a baby!

I think I ended up with a pretty comprehensive list � I put everything on the registry except for furniture, clothing, and nursing-related stuff.

Can you tell that I�m starting to stress a little bit about bringing a baby home in December? Oh, I know � we�ll figure it out as we go along, and really, it won�t be as overwhelming as it feels like it will be today. But still � I�m going into this optimistically but realistically with about 10% of the knowledge that I really need.

Thank goodness I still have a solid three and a half months to go before our due date � I need all the time we�ve got in order to figure out what the heck we�re going to do with a baby!

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�