��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

July 31, 2006

Delicious but not nutritious.

I�m not sure today�s lunch was totally nutritious for the baby.

But it was GOOD.

I had a large serving of sweet potato casserole from Boston Market, and some water.

Let�s see.

Hmm.

Nope. Not nutritious. Eek, did I really eat about 1,000 calories?

Dang.

But it was good. And totally worth it. I really don�t pig out like that very often.

Clearly, the baby wanted sweet potatoes. And who am I to deny my dear daughter a little indulgence every now and again? Especially when I get to benefit from it, too?

----------

Did nothing all weekend. Seriously. After getting my chores done, I did nothing.

Got some sun, swam in the pool, read a book, took two long walks with the dogs (and husband), had a couple of nice meals, took a few naps �

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Breathe in, breathe out.

How nice and relaxing.

You know, come the beginning of September, I�m going to be one busy, scheduled lady right up until the time this baby comes. So I think I won�t feel guilty for living so lazily and luxuriously right now. It�s good for me, it�s good for the baby � no guilt. (Yes, I�m trying to convince myself not to feel guilty.)

----------

She kicks. Hard enough to be felt through my tummy. Unfortunately she only does it when I�m alone � every time I call Blue over to feel it, she gets all shy and she stops kicking so hard.

I told Blue it�ll be weeks before he feels it, at this rate.

But it�s pretty cool. And also really freaky.

And by the way, either I�m the only mother on the planet who thinks it feels freaky to get thumped from the inside, or everyone else is lying. Because every time I say it freaks me out, I get weird looks from other moms. As if to say, �Well you must not be as good a mother as me, because I found only pure joy in my little baby�s kicks.�

Look, it�s weird, okay? Just admit it. It�s also cool and wonderful. But it�s WEIRD.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�