��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

July 11, 2006

Time to start gender stereotyping!

Hooray for my OB nurse.

She flipped on the ultrasound machine and we spent about 10 minutes looking at the baby today.

We aren�t certain � because my offspring was sitting Indian-style, legs crossed, and the cord was annoyingly in the way � but it certainly looks like we have a little daughter in there. My nurse said, �Now, don�t go buying anything pink � but I�m not seeing any signs of a torpedo in there, so I�d give you a 70% chance of it being a girl.�

We�ll have it confirmed in 2 weeks, at our 20-week ultrasound.

I told the nurse I had been dreaming about it being a girl, and she said, �Oh, Dr. Groovy says to always trust your dream instinct. If you are dreaming a girl, it�s likely to be a girl.�

Interesting.

Officially, at slightly less than 18 weeks, I have gained three pounds. Apparently most women gain more than that by this point. But she said not to worry about weight gain � and as long as everything is measuring okay at the 20-week ultrasound and the baby is growing appropriately, it really doesn�t matter how little I gain.

That�s nice to hear. I was afraid they were going to try and MAKE me pack on a pound a week � which I just can�t even begin to figure out how I�d do that. Because my 3-pound weight gain includes some fabulous empty calories � especially in the last few weeks. Lots of ice cream and movie popcorn.

So the baby looks good, and I look good, and Blue is going to have Daddy�s Little Girl running around the house in a few more months. (Well, not running around in a few months, but you know what I mean.)

A girl. Now I just have to pray that she doesn�t want to be a cheerleader in about 14 years.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�