��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

June 26, 2006

Domestic Goddess.

I had to spend some time on the phone today with a newly diagnosed lung cancer patient�s wife. She was having trouble understanding some of the information that the doctor had given her.

Specifically, she wanted more clarification about life expectancy for her husband with treatment or without.

The most hope I could give her was that 15-20% of newly diagnosed stage III lung cancer patients will live 3 years with treatment.

�What about the other 80-85%?�

�Not as long as 3 years.�

�What about without treatment?�

�Maybe one year. But probably not a good year.�

Wow, that just totally sucked. Nothing can drag a day down quite as fast as having that kind of conversation with a patient. And then asking, �Do you have any other questions for me?� and hearing the quiet sigh in her voice as she replied, �No, I guess not.�

----------

Don�t know what got into me tonight, but I was a domestic goddess after I got home (late) from work.

I did two loads of laundry, cooked dinner and did the dishes, took care of the cats and dogs, watered all of the plants (indoor and out), and ironed clothes for work tomorrow.

*curtsy*

I am now officially pooped.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�