��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

June 24, 2006

Fences and winkies and thunderstorms.

15 weeks, 1 day pregnant. Wow! Time is passing so quickly.

----------

Luckily, we have extremely nice neighbors. While I have had neighbors from hell in the past, we am currently living next to Very Nice People.

A few months ago a major storm blew through the neighborhood and trashed most of our outdoor furniture. It also blew down a tree which crashed on a portion of fence that is between our house and our neighbors� house.

Neighbor and his Dad decided to fix the fence. We offered to pay for at least half because they were doing the work, to which they replied, �Nonsense, nonsense, don�t worry about it!�

A few weeks ago we heard a pounding noise and looked out to find that Neighbor and his Dad were not just repairing the fence � they were completely rebuilding it! Not only that, but they were rebuilding it in the 103-degree heat of our heatwave.

�Blue!� I whispered loudly (because of course the neighbor who was banging away at a fence 50 feet away outside could possibly hear me), �They�re rebuilding the fence from scratch! New wood! Everything!�

�Naaaah, they�re just repairing it,� he said.

�Come! Here! Now! And! Look!� I whispered fiercely.

�Holy shit, they�re rebuilding the fence from scratch!� Blue said.

�Aw man, I feel so guilty. Should we go offer to help? Should I bring them lemonade?�

�They refused my help again � I offered cash, and Neighbor said he was happy to do it. He and his Dad love working on projects like this together.�

�Aw, we�re a couple of slackers.�

Anyway, last night we took the neighbor and his wife (but not their father, who doesn�t actually live in town) out to dinner. We chose a really nice restaurant which happened to be one of their favorites, and we all had an excellent time. Great meals all around, some good conversation, and it was quite pleasant.

I like the wife a lot � she seems to be quite cool. And anytime we talk, we seem to have a lot to say. Neither of us has ever taken it to the next level � coffee, or whatever � but I think we get along okay. She could be a friend, maybe, if I played my cards right.

It�d be nice to have another friend.

----------

Yesterday, my Mom and I went and got massages. There�s a place nearby that is, well, a massage parlour. Har har. No, it�s a business where all they do is massage. They have about ten massage rooms, and they have a ton of therapists, and you just call and make your appointment and there you go. You can also buy a �membership,� if you like to get frequent massages � it works out to be pretty cheap, like $35 for an hour massage if you do at least two a month. Not bad.

Anyway � before my massage I slipped into the back to go to the bathroom. (Damned bladder � I can�t go more than an hour and a half before I�ve got to pee again.)

I did my normal *knock* *knock* on the bathroom door, paused a second, and then opened the door.

And there stood some guy, peeing.

�Whoops! Sorry!� I said, closing the door.

I felt like a dork. And then I thought, �Wait. I knocked. I waited. I didn�t hear anyone say anything. And then I opened the door. Why the heck didn�t he lock the friggin� door?!� I�m not the one who should feel like a dork.

So he finished his business and came out of the bathroom � at which point I realized that he was one of the massage therapists. Please God, I prayed. Please don�t let him be my massage therapist.

After locking the door and finishing MY business, I went back to the waiting room and told my mom the story of a man and his winkie in the bathroom. �I hope I don�t get him,� I said.

She laughed at me.

He came to the waiting room and called � my Mom�s name.

Whew.

I wasn�t able to communicate to Mom that he was the guy � because he was standing right there and it wouldn�t have been too subtle to say, �PSST, HE�S THE ONE FROM THE BATHROOM I JUST TOLD YOU ABOUT.� So she didn�t know, at that point, that he was Mr. Unlocked Bathroom Door. Off they went for her massage, and I waited for my guy.

I was quite relieved that I didn�t have to get nekkid in the same room with the guy whose winkie I just saw.

After our massages, I said to my Mom, �You got my bathroom guy! I saw his winkie!�

To which she responded, �Thankfully, I did not see his winkie.�

We had a good laugh.

----------

We woke up this morning to a raging thunderstorm. What better excuse to snuggle under the covers and go back to sleep on a Saturday morning?

The weekend is off to a lovely start!


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�