��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

June 22, 2006

Luck be a table.

The lack of motivation is driving me nuts.

I wrote half a journal entry yesterday and it was going to take too much energy to finish so I didn�t.

I keep looking out the window at my pool, thinking, �It�d be nice to go for a swim.� Then I think, �Aaah, then I�d have to go get a towel, then I�d have to move the pool sweeper out of the pool, then afterwards I�d have to dry my hair again ��

Seriously. That�s the lack of motivation. I�m too de-motivated to go sit by the pool. Sad!

----------

Our old kitchen table and chairs had seen about enough. It was still functional, but it was old (it was second-hand when I got it) and it was getting ugly. We had been talking about retiring it for a while. We have a spare kitchen table and chairs, from when we both were living in separate apartments before we got married. We had moved those to Blue�s office since we didn�t need them at home.

We finally decided to make the swap � get rid of the old and bring over the other old (but slightly nicer).

I put a notice on a local �stuff recycling� board, saying that anyone who wanted it could come get it. I had FIFTEEN responses in about ten minutes. (I accurately described the table and chairs as old and getting ugly � so I was surprised that so many people wanted them!)

The first person who responded was a nice woman who said she could come get it the following afternoon � so I gave her the address and told her it was hers.

She showed up and she was delighted with the table and chairs. �Now we won�t have to eat off of the kitchen counters!� She said in an excited voice to her little boy. Then she leaned over and whispered to me, �I lost almost everything in the divorce, and am just now starting to piece things back together.�

Whoa.

I forget. I forget that there are people who are eating off of their kitchen counters because they can�t afford to buy a table and chairs. I feel like a schmuck because I forget these things. That a lot of people don�t have the money to scrape together secondhand furniture.

�Well, this is a good luck table for you, then.� I told her. �I got it from my sister after MY divorce when I lost custody of a lot of my stuff, and it has brought nothing but good luck. I�m glad you�re taking it.�

�We can use some luck,� she said, as she began loading the chairs into her old, beat-up SUV.

I wish I could�ve given her more. She was such a nice woman � and I am glad that she took the table and chairs. I wish it were nicer for her. I hope they really are good luck charms for her.

----------

Did I mention that the Milk of Magnesia worked?

Did I mention that it worked too well, and all week I�ve been having the opposite problem?

Figures, right?

I suppose I�m glad that it�s at the one extreme as opposed to the other. I think. I mean, it�s a lot more convenient to be constipated � but a lot more comfortable when you�re not.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�