��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

June 18, 2006

Time to be.

14 weeks, 2 days pregnant today.

The fruit suggestion to ward off my constipation?

Oh, yes, I�ve been eating the hell out of fruit. That�s about the only thing I�ve eaten consistently throughout the pregnancy. Tastes great, less filling, not really doing much to move things along.

A double dose of Milk of Magnesia did the trick. It was evil and awful and I hated drinking it. But it worked.

Five days ago it worked. Ahem. I now seem to be back where we started. I may be destined for another double dose of MOM tonight. (That�s at least eight tablespoons, to those of you who are counting. And let me just say that eight tablespoons is a daunting amount of chalky stuff to consume. Daunting.)

ARGH!

----------

My husband has developed an extremely annoying habit of dropping his prepositions.

�The garage needs cleaned out.�

�The pool needs drained.�

�The dogs need walked.�

I love the man with all of my heart and soul. But his grammar has always been lacking. (�Where are you at? Them nuts are tasty. It don�t matter.�) Amazing - this from a college-educated man who is an extremely successful (and semi-famous) entrepreneur. It drives me absolutely insane. I honestly had doubts about marrying him because of his grammar (oh yeah, I�m that shallow) � obviously he won me over with his boyish charm and hayseed way of talking.

BUT! If Junior pops out of the womb and says things like, �Where are you at? I ain�t joking. My diaper needs changed!� I will rip my hair out. Seriously. Blue will be married to a bald woman.

----------

I�m sitting out by the pool, still in my pajamas, at 1:07pm on Sunday. I�m typing this on the laptop, while Blue floats around in the pool and the dogs sniff out interesting things in the bushes.

It�s a quiet, peaceful afternoon and I�m loving it. I�m so glad that I�m not required to do anything. No chores, no work, nothing. All that is required of me is that I exist.

It�s wonderful to take in the moment. To drink in the heat of the sun and the birds singing and smell the chlorine of the pool. To watch the birds dancing around the bird feeder, to laugh at the dogs� antics with one another.

There goes a butterfly � touching down on one of my hanging plants briefly before flitting off in another direction.

I want to stretch this moment into eternity.

No more journaling for me today � it�s time to just be.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�