��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

June 06, 2006

I think I swallowed a canteloupe.

I�m starting to feel full. It�s not actually a comfortable feeling � it�s more a feeling of having a cantaloupe in my lower belly. That there�s something there, and it�s getting bigger, and a little extra Metamucil tomorrow morning will not make it go away.

I have my fingers crossed that I will get used to this feeling. With six and a half more months to go, it would be a bummer if I didn�t get used to this feeling. And maybe when I feel Junior start to flutter around, I�ll feel better about the whole thing � more content to feel like I�ve swallowed a grapefruit or two (or twelve).

Right now, though, it�s a little disconcerting.

----------

Not having been able to drag myself off of the couch for two days this weekend, I am starting to worry about this whole �Mommy� thing.

I forgot to feed the dogs the other day.

How on earth am I going to care for a baby human? I can�t scrape it together to take care of myself and the dogs. (Forget the husband and the cats. Normally I�d lump the husband in with the dogs � you know, needing extra care. But I think he�s going to have to transition into a cat over the next few months because he�s going to need that independence. I�m not sure I�ll have it in me to take care of him and the dogs and the baby.)

This feeling, too, shall pass. I think.

----------

I spent about 4 hours today baking cookies for my fertility doc�s office. I have to stop by tomorrow to grab a lab slip, and then Wednesday morning should (fingers crossed) be my last bloodwork to follow up on my progesterone.

With any luck, I will be off of the progesterone suppositories on Wednesday.

In anticipation of the celebration, I made biscotti, pecan chocolate chip cookies, and frosted cut-out sugar cookies.

Tomorrow morning I�ll run to Target and find a nice basket to put them all in. Then I�ll get some thank-you cards. One for the doc, one for the nurse, and one for the rest of the staff.

Looking forward to handing over the cookies.

Blue said to me today, �You�re spending an awful lot of time in that kitchen today.�

�They gave us a baby. The least I can do is bake them some cookies.�

Oh yes, Lucy Homemaker. You should be very impressed. I�ve actually had this plan (bake cookies) for several weeks now � but it�s only this week � today � that I�ve had the energy (and lack of queasiness) to be able to carry it out.

Three types of cookies. That�s the most I�ve done in a while. And I feel like I�ve run a friggin� marathon.

----------

Even though today absolutely exhausted me, and I fell right asleep at bedtime, I am now wide awake.

Or was wide awake, and am now slowly getting sleepy again.

It�s 3am � I crawled out of bed around 2.

I think by 3:30 my body will be ready to crawl back in.

Which is good, because tomorrow morning I have to get up for a 9:30 session with my personal trainer. And then I have a date with my mom to do some clothes shopping. And then an hour with the marriage counselor. I think this will be our last appointment for a while.

I have a nap scheduled for tomorrow, 3:30pm central standard time. Don�t call me. I will be snoozing.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�