��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

June 01, 2006

The amazing dancing baby.

Everything is hunky dory inside my uterus.

I felt like a real pregnant woman � I graduated to the transabdominal ultrasound today. No more transvaginal probes! Waahoo!

The baby (technically 11w6d today) measures 12w0d. He/she actually looks like a baby now, instead of a blob with a heartbeat. He (I�m dropping the /she part, although we don�t know the gender yet) kept bopping himself in the face with his little hand. It was the cutest thing. He�s got a big old head and floppy limbs. And his little tail is gone.

My uterus is tipped (retroflexed) and so the ultrasonographer had a hard time locating the nuchal fold. The position of the uterus, in combo with the baby�s dancing antics, made it impossible.

So I was forced to drink about 32 oz of water, in the hopes that my growing bladder would displace the uterus enough so that the baby would settle into the right pose for his close-up.

It worked � and although I was nearly bursting, the u/s tech got all of the measurements he needed.

We have a less than 1:850 risk of Down�s syndrome, and less than 1:10,000 risk of Trisomy 13/18.

I wasn�t worried before the screen, and now I�m especially not worried.

It was soooo much fun to see the baby today. He was dancing around � at one point, the u/s tech thumped my abdomen several times with the transducer to get the baby to move, and the baby danced around in response. It was hilarious.

I�m delighted. Everything is great, and here we are at the end of our first trimester. Rock on!

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�