��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

May 17, 2006

Go on, take the MSN and run ... woo, woo ...

�Take the MSN and run.�

These were the sage words of my advisor today, who counseled me about my school conundrum.

She was very nice about it, and we talked at length about career goals, life in the next several years, and how to figure out the right path to take.

I really like this woman. Not just because she�s an oncology nurse, too (she�s got way more experience at it, having been doing it for about 20 years to my 2), but because she�s really got a great head on her shoulders. She comes at life from the perspective of someone who has seen a lot of devastation as a result of cancer, and her advice reflected that.

�Life�s too short to worry about it,� she said. �If you can�t get it done now, take the MSN and come back when you�re ready to get it done. And who knows, you may never come back. Or you may get a PhD. You may win the lottery and never work again. Or you might die tomorrow.�

Hmmm.

I also saw my therapist today, and we talked about the options. She, too, was of a mindset that I should just take the MSN and relax a bit over the coming months. She described pregnancy as a wonderful, wonderful self-indulgent time, when it�s all about me and the baby. She pointed out how nice it is to be able to concentrate on feeling good and being happy for the sake of the baby � and �besides, your first pregnancy will be over before you know it, and life will be forever changed.� She recommended I chill out, park my over-achieving ego in neutral, and r-e-l-a-x. (oh, sure, easy for her to say!)

So without too much more thought or worry about this whole thing, I do believe I�m going to take the advice I got today. I�m going to take the MSN and run.

Next step: appointment with the department graduate director to sign off on the plan. Then I have to take two throw-away classes in June so that I have enough hours to graduate, and then I graduate, and am done. D.o.n.e. Done.

----------

I had a pretty morning-sickness-free day today, for the most part. Until dinner time. I was hungry � I could tell I was hungry. And the thought of any and all food made me feel queasy and woozy and like I needed to lay down.

�Damned baby,� I said.

I didn�t mean it. I was just that frustrated with the queasiness situation. Now, of course, I feel like a horrible person for having said that. Sigh.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�