��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

March 21, 2007

Better, somewhat.

One step forward, one step back.

Mary Poppins is on day two with my kiddo. It�s working out pretty well. The first day was a little shaky � but I think Baby Catnip is coming down with something or cutting her first tooth, because she is extraordinarily cranky.

Today is much better � Mary Poppins not only got my daughter to drink an ounce of breastmilk out of the bottle (SHOCKER), but she also got her down for a nap (double shocker).

I have gotten several things done around the house, including:

- Putting away six months of paperwork (seriously, a stack about 3 feet high).
- Cleaning out my pantry.
- Cleaning out our laundry room/cat room.
- Starting a mending job on our gazebo roof that will probably take a total of 6 hours (I did an hour�s worth of sewing).
- Ran to Target and stocked up on some essentials.
- Showered at a LEISURELY pace and took the time to do more with my hair than just dry it quickly and throw it back in a ponytail.

SO � so far, things are going well.

----------

I am still somewhat weepy. I am now starting to think that I DO have a little postpartum depression, and not just fatigue/exhaustion like I had been thinking. The reason I think this is because I cried after the nanny left yesterday � I wasn�t happy with the fact that I felt like I needed help, and I wasn�t happy while she was here, and I wasn�t happy when she left.

I figure if the �solution� to the problem doesn�t make me feel better, there�s probably something more going on.

I�m going to chill until next week when I talk to the uro-gynecologic surgeon about my pelvic floor muscles. If I hear the words, �Yes, I can fix you,� I think that will go a long way towards improving my mental health. If she hems and haws, I think I will make an appointment to go see my OB to talk about PPD.

What else .. oh, Blue is possibly having problems with the fact that I need a nanny. I say �possibly� because he is currently giving me the silent treatment because he is �mad at me� but he won�t tell me why. Since all I do is take care of the house and baby and haven�t done a single other thing lately, the only thing I can think of that would be pissing him off would be the nanny.

But since he gave me the OK to go get the nanny to begin with, I don�t understand why it would make him mad at me.

And he isn�t usually the �silent treatment� kind of guy.

So I have NO CLUE what�s going on here. It�s really a bit bizarre. It really bothered me at first this morning (I cried � big surprise there) but now I�m over it. He�s got issues and he won�t share, so I can�t do anything about it, so I�m not going to continue to make myself crazy over it. He�s a big boy, and I�ve got enough other stuff on my plate right now.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�