��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

February 19, 2007

No more bitching this week.

Baby Catnip and I had fun at the grocery store today. I wore her in the Baby Bjorn carrier, and she stayed awake the whole time. (Usually being in the Bjorn puts her to sleep in a few minutes.)

So I kept up a running dialogue with her while I was shopping. �There are the peas. No, we don�t like peas, so we�re not going to buy any peas. But you might like peas someday. So here�s where the peas are, if you ever want to buy them. We do need to buy some carrots, because Daddy really likes carrots. You�ll probably like carrots, too � they�re a tasty vegetable. Not a whole lot of nutritional value in carrots, but that�s okay, because you�ll like them so you�ll eat them.� And on and on.

I caught a lot of strange looks from my fellow shoppers.

The kiddo seemed to enjoy her time at the grocery store. I think she appreciated being in the Bjorn rather than in the car seat.

----------

I think I am starting to lose it a little.

Baby Catnip refuses to take a bottle. That means that I have to be nearby at least every 2-3 hours, because she�s only nine weeks old and still eating pretty frequently.

So in nine weeks, I�ve been away from Baby Catnip for a total of 5 hours. Five. Five hours in nine weeks.

Aaaaaaagh.

I need a break. Seriously. I need a break.

I need to be away from the baby for a few hours. I need time off.

She has been going with me to my PT appointments and normally sleeps right through. This morning she had a meltdown on the way to PT, she had a meltdown in the middle of my PT session, and then she had another meltdown on the way home. That�s a lot of crying.

Now she�s having a cranky night.

With my constant pain and incontinence issues, plus nine weeks without more than 2 hours of sleep at a stretch, I do not have the mental resources to deal well with a fussy crying baby. I am officially losing it

----------

Okay. Feeling like I need to stop complaining about my impending insanity. I�m imposing a moratorium on incontinence, pain, and lack of sleep topics. In fact, I think Baby Catnip should be off topic for a week, too.

---------

I�m feeling a little guilty.

I�ve been cheating on Adam Ant. With a younger man. A much younger man.

It�s true.

Replacing my music crush of 26 years �

A man who was born 26 years ago. (Holy shit. I just Googled that. Seriously, he was born in 1981?! The year I discovered Adam? Now I feel really frigging old.)

Josh Groban, baby. (He�s a baby. But he�s a gorgeous singer. And he�s a cutie pie. I�m robbing the music cradle � sue me.)


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�