��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

February 16, 2006

Off the deep end.

Oh god, how I can�t wait for March 1.

That is the day I get to use my Valentine�s gift certificate at the spa. A full day of relaxation and floating around in peace and harmony.

I love Blue so much. I�ll be starting with the Swedish massage (50 minutes) and a scalp treatment (30 minutes). Then lunch. Then relaxation, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, lap pool, champagne, possibly a quick nap .... then the afternoon will entail my essence of rose facial (50 minutes) and my essence of rose pedicure (50 minutes).

Ahhhhhhh.

I almost cried when I made the appointment � I�m so tense and tight and sleep-deprived � I said to the woman as I was booking it, �Can I come tomorrow instead?� she laughed.

I am living for March 1. That�s all there is to it.

----------

In other news, I bet my day was weirder than yours �

I spent three hours observing at an acupuncture school � part of my own school requirements (�view complementary therapies�).

One of the patients I saw was a schizophrenic. He was on umpty ump medications (all of them interacting with one another, a really bad cocktail and it wasn�t my place to say anything but man, had he been my patient we would�ve seriously talked about the med issue), he was an alcoholic and a smoker. He had Howard Hughes tonails that were really yucky (nursing terminology).

He also had some interesting delusions and � (wait for it) � a total fear of needles. (You might ask a mentally healthy person, �Gee, sir, if you�re afraid of needles, why are you booking an acupuncture appointment?� But this guy was off the deep end.)

So he screamed every time they put a needle in � it was quite an adventure.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�