��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

February 06, 2007

Electrical stimulation of the WHAT?

Today is a very, very down day for me. PT this morning was not fun. Especially when she inserted the probe and turned on the electrical stimulation.

�Does that feel okay?� she asked.

�Um, relative to what?� I joked, uncomfortably.

Seriously, though � electrical stimulation of the extern@l an@l sph!ncter � NOT FUN!

Oh, sure, you bondage-and-sadism people would pay top dollar for the experience � but that�s neither here nor there.

I just have this nagging feeling � call it my gut instinct � that I am not going to recover fully from this. Some of it is based on what my doctor and the physical therapist have said (or haven�t said). It just doesn�t seem totally fixable.

So I�m pretty down. I�m feeling really, really low.

Thank God I have such a beautiful daughter to show for my troubles.

----------

Speaking of which � my RE (infertility doc) wants to meet her. So we have an appointment next week to take her in so she can meet the man who helped bring her into the world. Very excited about that � I just confirmed things on the phone with my nurse � she said she couldn�t wait to see us. I�m excited � it�ll be a warm, fuzzy meeting with them for sure.

----------

Not much else going on. Lovely weather today � took the dogs and the baby for a walk. Boy, I�m out of shape. (And no working out for the time being, either � apparently it can screw with the PT. So I�m only allowed to walk.)

Tomorrow looks like it will be even nicer, so I�m planning another walk. It�s the little things.

Also seeing my therapist tomorrow. I kind of want to skip it, because I�m really frigging angry about this whole my-body-isn�t-working-right thing. I know it doesn�t sound logical, but I really want to be angry. I don�t feel like hanging out in a nice, therapeutic, spiritual environment and dealing constructively with my feelings. I want to drink a bottle of wine and cry myself to sleep.

Ah well. I�ll tell my therapist that and we�ll have a nice discussion about it. Heh.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�