��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

February 05, 2007

Lions and tigers and bears, oh my!

Well, shit.

Literally. Ha ha.

See? I haven�t lost my sense of humor.

I saw the physical therapist today. More professional confirmation that my pelvic floor muscles got ripped to shreds during Baby Catnip�s delivery.

�We rate pelvic floor strength on a one to five scale, with one being the weakest. You�re a one.�

I�m number one!

Unfortunately, that�s not a good thing in this case. Not only is there a ton of weakness, but there is some lack of integrity in the places where the worst tears happened.

The therapist is going to work with me for four to six weeks � we�ll do fun stuff like electrical stimulation of the muscles to try and increase the muscle tone.

But �she said it is doubtful that PT alone will fix my problems. I�m probably going to need to have surgery.

Dang!

There�s an extremely short list of things that I would prefer to do less than have colorectal surgery.

----------

Meanwhile, back at the ranch �

Baby Catnip seems to have developed both a virus and a sinus infection. Sigh. Poor kiddo. She�s got a rash on her chest and back, she�s got tons of nasal congestion, she�s got postnasal drip, and she�s got a raw throat.

Needless to say, she�s not very comfortable.

She�s on antibiotics, but the doctor thinks it will take a few days before they really kick in and start making her feel better.

I�m so bummed for her.

Interestingly, she never had a fever � and that�s probably because of the protective effects of the breastmilk.

It�s likely that things started with the virus � and the congestion just sort of progressed to a sinus infection.

I know it�s her job right now to catch little illnesses and build her immunity � I just wish she didn�t have to start so young.

----------

My in-laws are coming back this week. That�s all I need to top off this stellar week � houseguests.

Maybe they won�t stay too long. I really just need quiet recovery time for myself and Baby Catnip. If she�s feeling bad, the last thing I want is for the in-laws to be tossing her around.

Sigh!

I�m seriously wishing I could self-medicate with some a nice pinot noir right now �

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�