��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

January 21, 2006

Groucy and gripey.

There�s never good timing for a week like this week, is there? I mean, seriously. This week was rotten, and would�ve been rotten, no matter where in the calendar it fell.

Except that this week was particularly rotten for us, because Blue had a week filled with business stuff he couldn�t get out of.

He has a ton of employees that work all over the world and he flew them all in this last week for a big company meeting and party. He also invited all of our friends and family to the party, including his parents, who drove 16+ hours to get here for it.

So imagine his stress level when he found out on Tuesday afternoon that I needed surgery and then a week of TLC. Suffice it to say, the needle pegged the high end of the stress-o-meter.

I tried my best to be as un-needy as possible � which is hard when you�re in pain and all hormonal. I had my mom come stay with me one day, and a friend come stay for a while that evening, all so Blue could concentrate on his work stuff.

But tensions were high, and we really griped at each other all week � I don�t think either of us could really help it. I was in pain and scared and sad. He was frustrated and stressed and anxious. Together, we just rubbed each other the wrong way all week.

If this is as bad as things ever get between us, then we�re doing great. But right now it doesn�t feel so good.

Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�