��

"In this tempestuous, havoc-ridden world of ours, all real communication comes from the heart."

- Etty Hillesum

January 18, 2006

From bad to you�ve got to be fucking kidding me.

Just yesterday I was all, �hey, at least it�s almost over. I can suck it up and deal!�

And then yesterday afternoon I started having weird pain in my lower right-hand side. I called my doctor and my hCG numbers were still going up (which is not really supposed to happen after the methotrexate shots I got last week).

So they brought me in, did an ultrasound, and decided to do surgery. Diagnosis � possible rupturing fallopian tube.

I was at the doctor�s office at 3pm. I was at the hospital by 4. I was in surgery at 9. I got home at 3am.

Geez!

Turns out the tube wasn�t rupturing � but the doctor did lots of housekeeping in there. Got rid of the pregnancy. Cleared out some scar tissue. Did a D&C.

I guess there was a moment of drama when they thought that my kidneys were shutting down (whoops!) � I had almost no urine output � so they thought either the kidneys were shut down or that he accidentally nicked a ureter when he was in there. They did an IVP � they injected me with radioactive dye and took a bunch of x-rays. I vaguely remember being rolled around on x-ray plates and that it was extremely uncomfortable � but that was it for the drama. Apparently I was fine.

The whole ordeal was really fabulously enourmously awful.

The only good news I can think of is that it can�t possibly get worse, so it has to start getting better now.


Previous - Next

Last Few Entries

Back? - November 10, 2007
Just a break. - June 19, 2007
Caddy day in the pool. - June 05, 2007
Sleep! And sleep, and sleep! - June 01, 2007
Happy days are here again ... - May 30, 2007

� More about Etty Hillesum, the woman in the photo.�